Skip to content

Basic Resto Shaman Macros

February 14, 2010

When should you not macro your trinkets?  If you often think to yourself “healing ICC is easy, I wish I had another thing I could worry about to tweak to max my HPS,” then you may not need to macro your trinkets.  You are probably timing them at important moments in the fight for maximum burst healing.

For everyone else, I recommend a few simple macros to ensure you’re getting maximum uptime out of your trinkets, racial abilities, and other cooldowns.  I know that if I don’t macro my trinkets, I simply fail to use them enough.  I always save them for when things get really bad, and then when they do, I’m too focused on healing to pop my trinkets.  The first macro is something I manually entered in Clique (bound to shift right-click), and is my “oh shit” macro using Nature’s Swiftness.

  • #showtooltop Nature’s Swiftness
    /stopcasting
    /use 13
    /use 14
    /cast Tidal Force
    /cast Nature’s Swiftness
    /script UIErrorsFrame:Clear()
    /cast [target=mouseover] Chain Heal

This will pop both my trinkets and Tidal Force if they are up, Nature’s Swiftness and in instant Chain Heal.  If any of my cooldowns are not up, the second to last line will prevent any annoying UI messages on my screen.  Every resto shaman should have some version of this macro bound to an easily accessible key.  You can also create a separate macro using Healing Wave, but I find that keeping it simple with just Chain Heal works best for me, and the theory is that if the tank is getting low, other people probably are as well, so that Chain Heal bounces are almost always useful.

  • #showtooltip Riptide
    /stopcasting
    /use 13
    /use 14
    /script UIErrorsFrame:Clear()
    /cast [target=mouseover] Riptide

This macro is also set up in Clique, and ensures that I’m getting maximum use out my trinket slots (/use 13 and /use 14).  It will attempt to use both trinkets every time I use Riptide, which I am doing almost on cooldown these days.  You can macro this to any healing spell you prefer as long as you use it fairly regularly.  You could add Tidal Force here if you like, but I prefer to keep mine in reserve for Nature’s Swiftness.  That’s when I’m really going to need the crit, and with a 3 minute cooldown compared to 2 minutes on Nature’s Swiftness, I’m already taking advantage of Tidal Force by using Nature’s Swiftness frequently.

With those two macros, or something like them, you’ll be able to take full advantage of your trinkets, Nature’s Swiftness and Tidal Force, no matter how focused you get on those health bars.  You can select trinkets with a great on-use ability without worrying that you’ll never remember to use them.  And, you’ll put out more healing without adding another thing to worry about during a difficult fight.  Any one else have another macro that they find essential?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cyn permalink
    February 22, 2010 6:15 AM

    Great tips, especially with regards to popping trinkets along with NS and TF, right before a chain heal. That macro will definitely see some use after Festergut’s exhale. I’m in the same boat in that if a trinket says “on use”, it probably won’t be used in the middle of a fight.

Leave a Reply

